how much is that doggie in the window?

I have wanted a dog for basically as long as I can remember. Growing up, we never had dogs. Sure, I had fish, but eventually my dad flushed them down the toilet. (not even kidding!) But lately, my longing for a dog has only gotten worse. My friends are all getting married, and well, I am getting a dog. 

lakeshore pembroke welsh corgi rescue at great lakes pet expo

lakeshore pembroke welsh corgi rescue at great lakes pet expo

I was really surprised on Thanksgiving morning when my dad walked into the kitchen and declared, “we should get you a dog. A corgi!” I had never once mentioned to him how much I wanted a Pembroke Welsh Corgi, but he knew. It was weird. (I later came to find out that my mom had put a bug in his ear many months prior.)

On Christmas morning, I was blessed enough to hear my dad say, “I will get you a dog.” He just couldn’t make it happen in time for a little puppy to be running around under the tree. HOORAY! So, the hunt for a little Pembroke Welsh Corgi began.

cricket the corgi catches me trying to take her photo

cricket the corgi catches me trying to take her photo

Let me tell you, this has been a really interesting process. For starters, I want to find a purebred, from a breeder. (Please don’t get all shouty at me for not wanting a rescue.  I understand. They need forever homes just like puppies do. But I want my dog to be with me for the next 15-20 years and to raise him all my own.) Finding a breeder has been a really tough challenge. The first breeder I spoke with wasn’t as forthcoming as I would’ve liked about a condition her puppies had. The next breeder’s e-mail bounced back to me as undeliverable. A reputable breeder that I had references for just had a litter of puppies and I would have to wait until the fall (10 months away!) before they would have their next litter.

So, my mom and I decided to head to the Great Lakes Pet Expo this past weekend at State Fair Park. Lakeshore Pembroke Welsh Corgi Rescue had a booth and we were hoping they may have some breeder referrals for us.

The Pet Expo was INSANE. There were people everywhere. One woman told us they get 10,000 people there every year. And it’s only a one day event! While there, I got to meet – and play with – Cricket, the adorable tri-color corgi. She was so cute and fun to play with! Unfortunately, the rescue group didn’t really have any breeder information for us, but it was nice to be able to talk with people that know the breed and could help us understand what to look for in a breeder.

cricket the corgi

cricket the corgi

After we played with Cricket, we went to see my mom’s favorite breed, the Cavalier King Charles Spaniel. They had puppies that were 3 months old and one of them fell asleep in my mom’s hand! They were really cute. But, in my very biased opinion, not as cute as the corgis. 🙂 After we played with the spaniels, we decided to leave. There were just way too many people there and we had seen the dogs we wanted to see.

So, the hunt for a corgi continues. For those of you that have dogs, how did you find your breeder, if you have one? Any tips for me as I add a little puppy to my family? (Any advice for living with a brand new puppy?!) Do you know a corgi breeder in Wisconsin or Illinois? I’d love to hear anything and everything you can tell me!

xoxo,

s

Leave a Reply

