recap: university school of milwaukee holiday shops

I mentioned this in my last post, but this past weekend was the annual Holiday Shops boutique hosted by University School of Milwaukee. Going to the Holiday Shops has been a tradition with my mom for several years now. 
On Saturday morning, we got up early, went out to breakfast, and then got to the Holiday Shops when they opened at 9:30. We spent nearly 3 hours walking around looking at all the vendors, trying clothes on, sampling candy and other goodies, and having a great time.

I always make sure I purchase a few things because the vendors almost always are from out-of-state and have items that we can’t normally buy here. Here’s a rundown of my favorite vendors and some of the things I purchased.

Melly is a Lilly Pulitzer signature shop in Edina, MN and a staple of the Holiday Shops. Their booth is huge and features tons of brightly colored Lilly Pulitzer and kate spade baubles, along with Longchamp and other premium brands. But what I like most about Melly is Mary Mead, the owner. Mary is just such a doll. Every year, she mans the booth with her husband, and they are so friendly and knowledgeable about their products. They are by far my favorite vendor at the show, and of course I had to pick up a few kate spade items: the “find the silver lining” idiom necklace and a business card holder (for the business cards for my… NEW JOB!)

melly

Julie Whitehead is an artist from Lake Forest, IL (unfortunately she does not have a website) who makes the most beautiful handmade ornaments. She takes different fabrics, and essentially crystallizes them. They are so bright and cheery and every year I get at least one. I keep telling her that someday my tree will have nothing but her ornaments on it! I wish I could share them with you online but you will just have to settle for a photo instead 🙂

julie whitehead ornaments

Groveland Confections from Minnetonka, MN was a new vendor this year and all I really have to say is… YUM. I have never had chocolate covered sea salt caramels as the caramels I purchased on Saturday. They are HUGE and really just delicious. The caramel is soft and buttery and the combination of that, the chocolate and the sea salt is… heaven.

All in all, it was a really great morning with some awesome finds. Let the holiday shopping season begin! Where will you do your shopping this season?

xoxo,

s

Leave a Reply

