slow cooker sustenance

This past weekend was pretty uneventful, as R and I decided to lay low and save our Halloween celebrating until later this week. Since I had nothing else to do, I decided to browse my favorite website (Pinterest) to find some new recipes to try.

zesty bbq chicken

Although we were pretty low on ingredients, I found two recipes that I was able to make on Saturday: Balsamic & Parmesan Roasted Cauliflower and Zesty BBQ Chicken. We didn’t have any parmesan cheese, so I used shredded cheddar with the cauliflower. That ended up giving it more of a sour flavor (R said it tasted like mustard), so make sure to use parmesan if you try this recipe!

As for the Zesty BBQ Chicken, I paired it with brown rice instead of using buns, and it turned out great! I even had some leftovers for lunch today 🙂

If you didn’t know already, I am a horrible, horrible cook — I can barely make Easy Mac! When I moved into my first apartment, I told myself that I would learn how to cook. However, my kitchen ended up being so small (we’re talking closet-sized with a mini oven!) that I wasn’t able to do very much. R and I moved into a new apartment in August with a HUGE kitchen, full-sized appliances and plenty of space for food prep, so now I have no excuses!

My favorite tool for cooking right now has to be the crock pot (or slow cooker, if you prefer). Take a little time to prepare all of your ingredients, throw them in the pot, wait a few hours and ta-da! There are so many recipes out there for a crock pot, too.

Here are some fairly simple crock pot recipes that I plan to try in the near future:

bacon ranch crockpot chicken

Ingredients:

  • bacon, cooked and shredded
  • garlic powder
  • 2 packages of Hidden Valley Ranch dressing
  • 2 – 10.75 oz cans of Cream of Chicken soup
  • 16 oz of sour cream
  • 1 bag of frozen chicken tenderloins
  • 2 packages of pasta

View the full recipe from Oh Lordy!

potatoes in a crock pot

Ingredients:

  • 5 lbs Sierra Gold potatoes or red potatoes, peeled and diced
  • 1 cup water
  • 1 cup butter, cut into chunks
  • 1 tbsp salt
  • 3/4 tsp ground black pepper
  • 1 1/3 cup milk, warmed

Get the entire recipe from First A Dream!

crock pot orange chicken

Ingredients:

  • 3-4 boneless chicken breasts, cut into chunks
  • 1/3 cup flour
  • olive oil
  • 1/2 tbsp salt
  • 1 tsp balsamic vinegar
  • 3 tbsp ketchup
  • 6 oz frozen orange juice concentrate (thawed or microwaved for 45 seconds)
  • 4 tbsp brown sugar

Check out the entire recipe from The Pursuit of Happiness!

crock pot apple cider

Ingredients:

  • 10-12 medium size apples
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar (or to taste)
  • 4 cinnamon sticks
  • 3 tbsp allspice
  • 1 tbsp cloves
  • 1 whole nutmeg

View the full recipe from Six in the Suburbs!

crock pot beer chicken

Ingredients:

  • 2 lbs boneless, skinless chicken breasts
  • 1 bottle or can of beer
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp garlic powder
  • 1 tbsp dried oregano
  • 1/2 tsp black pepper

Get the entire recipe from LaaLoosh!

Do you have any favorite crock pot/slow cooker recipes you’d like to share? Leave a comment below!

xoxo,

c

Leave a Reply

