travel light and pack a small suitcase

I go on several trips a year — most of which last about a week, but some are shorter. No matter how many days I’m gone, I always try my hardest to get everything to fit into a carry-on as opposed to checked baggage. I have a fear of getting to my destination (or back home) only to find that my stuff didn’t come along for the ride!

Whether it’s paranoia or just a desire to save time after landing, here are my tips when it comes to packing all of your items into a carry-on suitcase:

  • Gather up all of the items you plan to take with you and organize them by category
  • Keep in mind that since you will not be checking any bags, you’ll need to make sure that your liquid items follow the TSA’s 3-1-1 rule
  • Pack shoes, hairstyling tools and other “chunky” items at the bottom of your bag (My suitcase has a separate section at the bottom that is perfect for my heels, makeup and flatiron)
  • Take your small clothing items (such as undergarments, swimsuits and socks) and tuck them into the spaces between your chunky items
  • Fold up any t-shirts and tank tops as small as they can get, and tuck them into one corner of your bag
  • Take any pants or jeans, fold them in half and then roll them up
  • Dresses and skirts are light and thin, so they will go on top of everything else

The TSA allows you to have one carry-on suitcase and one personal item such as a laptop, purse, small backpack, etc. I like to bring my computer with me (along with a few other things for my fight), so I put everything into a backpack. This also ensures that I have some room to bring back souvenirs!

Not only will travelling with just a carry-on save you time, you can also avoid those nasty checked baggage fees!

Do you have any other tips when it comes to traveling? Let’s hear ’em!

xoxo,

c

Leave a Reply

